Skip to main content

National Highways wing of the State PWD was formed for the maintenance and upkeep of National Highways entrusted to State PWD in accordance with NH Act 1956 by Ministry of Road Transport and Highways(MoRTH), Government of India. There are 11 National Highways in Kerala with a total length of 1781.36 KM and of which 1540.56 KM of NH is currently maintained by the State PWD. The remaining 240.8 KM is currently with the National Highway Authority of India(NHAI) as  part of the four/six laning programme of MoRTH.


National Highways in Kerala
Sl.No Name of National Highway NH Number
1 Thalappadi(Kerala Karnataka Border) - Karode (Kerala Tamilnadu Border) 66
2 Walayar-Edapally 544
3 Kollam - Kottavasal  744
4 Bodimettu - Kundanoor  85
5 Kozhikode - Palakkad  966
6 Kozhikode - Muthanga  766
7 Wellington Island - Kundanoor  966B
8 Kollam - Theni 183
9 Bharanikavu – Pathanamthitta - Vandiperiyar 183A
10 Adimali - Vandiperiyar  185
11 Kalamassery - Vallarpadom  966A

Serial no. 1 to 5 are earmarked for widening to 6 / 4laning under Bharathmala Pariyojana through NHAI.

National Highways wing deals with the planning, project preparation, construction and maintenance of all National Highways and its bridges. NH wing is having its headquarters at Thiruvananthapuram and is under the control of a Chief Engineer of the Public Works Department assisted by 3 Superintendenting Engineers located in 3 circle offices and 8 Executive Engineers in 8 NH Divisions.Serial no. 1 to 5 are earmarked for widening to 6 / 4 laning under Bharathmala Pariyojana through NHAI.